Obama x Erdogan – Recognize the Armenian Genocide

Well for those of you who don’t know, I’m part Armenian, hence the “ian” in my family name. I know I may not look it, but it surely runs in my blood. I even went to an exclusive Armenian elementary school for a number of years back in Toronto and can speak it fluently. Now the reasoning behind all this is because I would simply like to educate people about Armenian culture, and the meeting that will be taking place on December 7th between US President Obama and Turkey’s Prime Minister Erdogan.

“Their White House meeting represents a vital chance for President Obama – who earlier this year broke his pledge to recognize the Armenian Genocide – to tell Turkey that America fearlessly and forcefully condemns all crime against humanity.” [via]

I’ll keep the history lesson real short – It is estimated that one and a half million Armenians were massacred between 1915 to 1923 due to the Ottoman Empire. This all ended when the new Turkish republic was established in 1923 where their government began an official policy of denying the genocide ever took place, a denial which the current Turkish government continues to this day (BEING 95 YEARS LATER). This is why the meeting that will be taking place next Monday is vital to our culture.

For those of you who don’t even know where Armenia is, the image below will give you a bit of a hint and also show you how big the  country was, to what it is now. East Turkey is West Armenia.

This picture is definitely worth a thousand words. In the years following the mass killing of the Armenians, the world seemed to forget about the genocide. This Armenian genocide denial would soon encourage another dictator, in justifying his own murderous holocaust by him saying,

“Who still speaks of the extermination of the Armenians?
-Adolf Hitler

If anyone denies the Jewish holocaust they’re quickly labeled as an “anti-semenist”, where in our case, for the past 95 years, the entire Turkish government/culture denies the Armenian Genocide, which is simply the reasoning to the efforts.

You see, the thing that really disgusts me about this entire issue, is seeing how my generations attitude is towards this situation. A couple of months back, I was browsing through several “Armenian Genocide Awarness” groups on Facebook and read a dialogue between two people from both cultures, who were bashing eachother which left me in shock. I couldn’t believe the fact that these 20 – something year olds had such a strong sense of bitterness towards eachother as if they were directly effected by it.  I personally have some “hardcore” Armenian friends who straight up, openly admit their hatred towards Turks which, I apologize for saying,  is just simply ignorant. If you want to hate something, hate the fact that this isn’t recognized by the UN or the International Criminal Tribunal.

In my eyes, there’s no difference between a liar and someone who is ignorant, you’re both just fools. Don’t get me wrong, my entire familiy was all dispersed during that time. When this all started in 1915, my great grandmother (who was 3 at the time) and her uncle hid in a tree for three days without food or water, then somehow ended up in Lebanon. As much as my family suffered in Armenia, I’m not in any position to judge the Turks. It wasn’t my era, and had nothing to do with me.

But in cases such as this, where we can slightly influence political action, we should clearly step our game up and  do something. The Armenian National Committee of America has the “Action of the Day” which is something very doable.
AP stand up.

Leave a Reply

