c’est la vie – common sense 101

Achieving Higher Standards

I believe that a compulsory course in high school should be Common Sense 101. With a course description of something along the lines of this:

Common Sense 101 is an introductory class on the way you should present yourself in front of others. This class will cover basic concepts and ideas from categories based on speech, appearance, actions, eating, and many more. Don’t be the laughing stock of your friends anymore!

DSC03733

The reason I say this is because; the older I get, I tend to notice the people I don’t want to associate myself with just by the way they act or talk in certain situations. If people were taught to chew with their mouths closed, or were taught to say good morning at the office, or were taught to say thank you when the door is held open, the world would probably be such a better place, don’t you think? People would generally be friendlier and happier. I guess this may be a very shallow point of view, but I personally believe it’s a very solid argument.  I hope you don’t misunderstand what I’m trying to say…

For those of you who know me, know that I’m a very social person and am always more than welcoming to meet new people. I don’t like being in immature or childish situations. I don’t know about you, but I personally wouldn’t want to surround myself with people who are of this nature. I wouldn’t want to walk with a person who acts like a little girl, or a person who eats like a little boy – I’d prefer to walk with a person who acts like a princess, or a person who dines like a king.

There is a saying that my parents always used when they didn’t like my friends and they would always say it the same way, with the same tone, “Jack… (short pause) tell me who your friends are, and I’ll tell you who you are.” This saying started to make a lot more sense to me as I grew older. When we hang out with our friends, we quickly tend to rub off each others actions and sayings, doing so unintentionally. The things we fill our heads with, are the things that come out of our mouths.

school

When it comes to specific things like sports, music, business, we tend to look at how the best in the industry do it not the worst. We want to know how Michael Jordan shoots a free throw, or how Victor Wooten plays his bass, or even how Warren Buffet invests his money. In fact, no one really cares how Joe Shmoe does his thing, no one even mentions it, poor Joe doesn’t even make the news. More importantly, when it comes to life, some of us are looking at how friends XYZ are doing it rather than friends ABC. So people, I encourage you to be aware of who you surround yourself with, do you have the tendencies of some of these people?

Even to this day, I still see very childish adults. These are generally the type of people who you’d look up to and admire. The type of people who you would aspire to be like. The type of people who you would say, “When I’m 50 I want to be in his/her shoes.” But unfortunately, this is life.

 

Leave a Reply

